Monday, August 26, 2019

Salary History Ban

NYS  law that bans salary history questions takes effect January 6, 2020.
Employers can not ask employees or applicants their previous salaries. Employers can not use salary history to determine an employee's rate of pay.

NYS Expands Pay Equity Law

New York state has expanded a state law prohibiting gender pay discrimination, making it illegal to pay someone less based on factors such as race, religion or gender identity. 

The new law also changes a legal standard for pay equity to make it easier for employees to prove discrimination in court. 

Gov. Andrew Cuomo signed the changes into law in Manhattan, the law takes effect October 8, 2019.

The law requires equal pay  among employee who preform " substantially similar"
work not just "equal work". Employers will not be able to hide behind job titles but must consider classes of job and roles.
This law does not just cover sex but includes age, race, creed, color, gender identity, gender expression, martial status, domestic violence victim status or other status protected by law.


Monday, July 1, 2019

NJ MINIMUM WAGE INCREASE EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2019

Effective July 1, 2019 minimum wage goes up for most workers to $10.00 per hour from $8.85. 1/1/2020 it will go to $11. and then increase each January 1st by another dollar.

Small employers of less than 6 employees (and agricultural employers) remains at $8.85 till 1/1/2020 when it goes up to $10.30 and then increase each January 1st.

NJ is on a march to $15. per hour by 2024.

Tipped workers increase from $2.13 to $2.63 effective July 1, 2019 and then every January 1st it will increase till 1/1/2022, where it will hit $5.13. Tips must bring it to regular minimum wage.

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

New In 2019: Illinois Employers Must Reimburse Business Expenses

Illinois amended the Illinois Wage Payment and Collection Act, effective Jan. 1, 2019. The new amendment requires employers to reimburse employees for certain expenses and losses.
The law states that employers are required to reimburse employees for “all necessary expenditures or losses incurred within the employee’s scope of employment and directly related to the services performed for the employer.” This includes, but is not limited to, business travel, customer entertainment, home office supplies, cell phone expenses and more.
Employees must submit reimbursement requests, along with supporting documentation, to employers within 30 days of incurring the expense unless a different time period is specified by the employer.
Lastly, the amendment excludes certain types of losses from those an employer is required to reimburse, including losses due to an employee’s own negligence and losses due to regular wear.
Illinois now joins several other states such as CA, IA AND NH with this requirement. IL law is different in that the law permits employers to maintain written expense reimbursement policies that reimburse employees for less than the full cost of the expense.
The act provides that an employer will not be liable for the portion of the expenditure that exceeds the specifications or guidelines of the employers policy, so long as the policy does not provide for no reimbursement or a de minimis reimbursement. Employers may reimburse at less than 100% of the expenditure amount as long as the employer provides some real reimbursement based on a written policy that provides some real reimbursement.


Sunday, December 30, 2018

2019 NEW LIMITATIONS ON FICA ET. AL.

                                  FICA (oasdi) limit will be $132,900. up from $128,700.
                                  401k/403b limit is $19,000 up from $18,500, if over 50, $25,000.            
                                  NYS SUI wage limit $11,400. NJS SUI wage limit  $33,700.
                                  NYC minimum wage if below 11 employees $13.50 if over 11 $15.00.
                                  tipped minimum in NYC $10. if 11 employees for food service workers if less
                                  than 11 employees $9, tipped delivery workers $12.50 in Nyc
                                  LONG ISLAND & Westchester county $12. minumum per hours, tipped
                                  workers $8.
                                  Rest of NYS $11.10 per hour and tipped workers $7.50
                                  NJS minimum wage $8.85, tipped workers $2.13 per hour
                                 
                                 

Friday, October 19, 2018

NJ Paid Sick Leave Law Takes Effect Oct 29

NJ becomes the 10th state in the nation to require employers of all size to provide paid sick leave.
Any employer in NJS irrespective of size are covered. All employees are covered except per diem employees, public employees who already have sick leave benefits and employees in the construction industry employed under a collective bargaining agreement.
A maximum of 40 hours per year may be accrued at a rate of 1 hour per 30 worked. Here is the hard part: the employer is allowed to designate any period of 12 consecutive months as a benefit year. This can only be changed with first notifying NJ D of L. Existing employees begin accruing sick days on Oct 29th. New employees hired after that date begin accruing on their first date of employment.
Employers must post notification of employees rights.
Employees may begin to use this sick after the 120th day of employment.
Employees may use accrued sick time for diagnostic, care, treatment or recovery for self or family member or to attend a school meeting for their children.

Thursday, August 9, 2018

NYC NEW POSTER REQUIREMENTS effective July 18, 2018

new poster requirements.
The new law of TEMPORARY SCHEDULE CHANGE LAW. It is now required that you post a poster that employees have a right to a schedule change twice a year.
This is for all employees who have worked 80+ hours (in a calendar year) and have worked for their employer 120 days.
An employee is allowed to request a temporary change in their schedule for a personal event. A personal event is, care for a child under 18, the need to care for a care recipient, any legal procedure and any other event which would fall under the paid safe and sick leave act.
The employer MUST grant accommodation with pay or allow unpaid time off. Request may be verbal but correspondence needs to be kept in writing
Employee may complain to NYC for not reasonable accommodation.
Contact me if you need a poster to hang up